寵物護理資訊及個別案例研究 “「醫」書直說

狗隻常見疾病:認識牛蜱熱 (Ehrlichia Canis)

狗牛蜱熱

上一次的文章提到的Babesia,是本地常見引致牛蜱熱的寄生蟲之一, 今次的文章就會集中討論另一種:Ehrlichia Canis

什麼是牛蜱熱(Ehrlichiosis)?

Ehrlichiosis是一種由Ehrlichia Canis寄生蟲引起的疾病,常見於狗隻身上。 牛蜱是主要的傳播媒介,當帶有E. Canis寄生蟲的牛蜱附著在狗隻身上,吸血的過程中就會令狗狗受到感染。 另外,該病毒亦可以透過輸血等醫療程序傳播。

Ehrlichia Canis會感染狗隻體內的白血球,特別是單核細胞,導致血小板流失,從而影響血液凝固的功能,有可能引起相關的健康問題,例如出血等。

在感染的早期階段可能較難診斷出來,這是由於免疫系統通常需要兩到三週的時間來對寄生蟲的存在作出辨別和反應,並產生抗體,所以即使感染Ehrlichia仍有可能出現陰性的檢測反應。

會出現什麼病徵?

這一類牛蜱熱的病徵大致可以分為三個階段:急性(早期感染)、亞臨床(無明顯外在病徵)和臨床或慢性(長期感染)。

「急性」的階段,受Ehrlichia Canis感染的狗可能會發燒、淋巴結腫大、呼吸困難、體重減輕、出血(體內或體外出血),偶爾還會影響神經系統(有機會發展成腦膜炎)。 這個階段可能會持續兩到四個星期,之後一些狗隻可能會好轉或進入亞臨床階段。

下一個是「亞臨床」階段,在這個階段,狗隻雖然已經受到感染,但沒有明顯的表面徵狀。 所以很多時候,狗狗會在主人不察覺的情況下度過了這個階段。 亞臨床階段儘管沒有明顯的疾病跡象,但可以在實驗室測試中觀察到變化。 亞臨床階段通常被認為是最差的階段,因為沒有臨床症狀,因此疾病難以被發現,可能令疾病延誤治療。 在此階段,要察覺感染的做法可能是在抽取血液樣本後,狗的傷口凝血時間變得更長。 亞臨床感染的狗狗可能靠自生免疫力消除感染,或可能進入下一階段。

「臨床/慢性」階段,這是因為免疫系統無法自行清除病原體。 這時期的狗可能會出現這些病徵:貧血、出血、影響視覺神經(例如出血或失明)、其他神經系統問題和四肢腫脹。 如果骨髓(即生成血細胞的部位)出現故障,狗將無法製造維持生命所需的任何血細胞(紅血球、白血球和血小板),有可能危及生命。 在這個階段的狗會更難治療,因為它們病情更嚴重、更虛弱、死亡風險也較高。

診斷方法

目前有兩種主要測試:1) PCR測試、2)抗體測試。 多年來抗體檢測一直是主要的診斷方法,但近年PCR檢測的出現提升了檢測的準確度。

  • 抗體檢測

以往當懷疑染上Ehrlichia Canis時,可以進行血液測試來檢測Ehrlichia抗體 。 不過,抗體檢測有一些偏差。 測試為陽性的狗隻,表明曾經受到病毒感染,但並不一定代表是當前正受感染。 而陰性的結果也不能完全排除已受到病毒感染,因為重症患者有可能病得太重而無法產生抗體,而早期病例亦有可能尚未開始產生抗體。

  • PCR測試

這是一個針對Ehrlichia Canis的DNA進行的實驗室測試, 但要留意的是PCR測試都有一些限制,在清除感染後的幾週內仍有可能保持陽性的檢測結果,因為它無法區分開活的和死的寄生蟲病原體。 從體內清除已死的病原體是需要時間。

所以這兩種測試是可以互補的,可以使用抗體測試和PCR測試,以識別狗隻是否感染這一類牛蜱熱。 在確定感染階段和治療方案後,在完成治療並經過幾週後,再進行PCR測試檢查是否有任何殘留的Ehrlichia DNA,以確保感染已被清除。

如何治療?

 

抗生素(例如doxycycline)是常用和有效的治療Ehrlichia Canis牛蜱熱的方法。 療程一般需要一段較長的時間,由一個月至更長時間不等。 但這是最廣泛應用的治療方法,因為方便使用和副作用較少。

不過對於處於慢性階段的狗隻,有可能會出現嚴重貧血或出血問題,需要輸血,而且還可能需要支持性護理。

如果病情嚴重而不加治療,狗隻的性命將會受到威脅。不過要留意的是,即使狗狗最終康復,並從中獲得抗體,都不代表可以終生免疫,仍然有可能會再次感染牛蜱熱。

建議與你的獸醫討論適合你狗狗的治療方案,因為根據病患的身體狀況和臨床徵狀,需要的藥物和治療都各有差異,我們不能在此一概而論。

預防

預防是讓你的狗狗遠離牛蜱侵害的最住方法,最好經常幫牠檢查身體表面,觀察是否有牛蜱附著, 亦可以定期使用預防牛蜱的藥物或產品,有外用和口服咀嚼片可供選擇。 如果你對此有任何疑問,可以向你的獸醫尋求建議,以確定哪種預防措施最適合你的狗狗。

切記,如果您的狗出現任何病徵,請盡快聯繫您的獸醫,因為在染病初期快給牠們治療的話能大大提高康復的機會。

溫馨提示:康誠動物醫院的「24小時狗隻血包直購及送貨服務」,為有需要的狗隻提供血包以作醫療用途,例如手術前後、牛蜱熱、自身免疫系統溶血等犬隻輸血用途。如有需要,可直接致電: 2572 2088查詢有關細節及詳情。

如有需要,請聯絡康誠動物醫院以獲取更多相關資訊;或網上預約檢查服務。

尋找我們

Address 元朗大棠路 41-59號金朗大廈地下5號鋪 Hours星期一至五:早上10時至晚上8時
星期六及星期日:早上10時至晚上10時

最新文章

Dedicated Professionals Committed to the Highest of Veterinary Care

Whether you want to make an appointment or simply ask us a question, give us a call and our dedicated customer service will do their best to assist with your enquiries. Customer Care Hotline: 2572 2088

CONTACT US

FOLLOW US

Pet Care, Resources, and “The Vet Says

Dogs Disease: Know more about Tick Fever (Ehrlichia Canis)

dog tick fever

In the previous article, we talked about the Babesia infection which is one of the most common tick fever diseases. Today let’s focus on another one: Ehrlichiosis.

What is Ehrlichiosis?

Ehrlichiosis is another common tick-borne disease which is caused by the Ehrlichia Canis (E. Canis) bacterium. Tick is the main carrier, and transmission could occur through infected ticks. Blood transfusions, or other means by which infected WBCs can be transferred, may also transmit the organism.

E. Canis organism infects a certain type of white blood cell (called monocytes) in dogs and leads to periodic losses of platelets, which causes problems with blood clotting.

In addition, this disease may be difficult to diagnose infected dogs during the very early stages of infection, it may be lack clinical signs as the immune system usually takes two to three weeks to respond to the presence of the organism and develop antibodies.

What are the signs of E. Canis infection?

Signs of ehrlichiosis can be divided into three stages: acute (early disease), sub-clinical (no outward signs of disease), and clinical or chronic (long-standing infection).

In acute phase, infected dogs may have fever, swollen lymph nodes, respiratory distress, weight loss, bleeding disorders (spontaneous hemorrhage or bleeding), and occasionally, neurological disturbances (they may seem unsteady or develop meningitis). This stage may last two to four weeks and some dogs may eliminate the infection or head in to the sub-clinical phase.

The sub-clinical phase represents the stage of infection in which the organism is present, but not causing any outward signs of disease. Sometimes a dog will pass through the acute phase without its owner being aware of the infection. These dogs may become sub-clinical and develop changes observed at the laboratory level, yet have no apparent signs of illness. The sub-clinical phase is often considered the worst phase because there are no clinical signs and therefore the disease goes undetected. The only hint that a dog may be infected during this phase may be after a blood sample is drawn, when the dog shows prolonged bleeding from the puncture site. Dogs that are infected sub-clinically may eliminate the organisms or may progress to the next stage, clinical ehrlichiosis.

Clinical or chronic ehrlichiosis occurs because the immune system is not able to eliminate the organism. Dogs are likely to develop a host of problems: anemia, bleeding episodes, lameness, eye problems (including hemorrhage into the eyes or blindness), neurological problems, and swollen limbs. If the bone marrow (site of blood cell production) fails, the dog becomes unable to manufacture any of the blood cells necessary to sustain life (red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets). Dogs in the chronic stage are more difficult to treat as they are sicker and more debilitated, mortality rate is also much higher.

How is Ehrlichiosis diagnosed?

There are two main tests for Ehrlichia: PCR testing for Ehrlichia DNA or blood testing for Ehrlichia antibodies. Antibody testing has been the main diagnostic for many years but the recent availability of PCR testing has changed the approach.

  • Antibody Testing

Traditionally, when Ehrlichiosis is suspected, a blood test for antibodies against Ehrlichia organisms can be ordered or performed in minutes using an in-house test kit. There are some limitations to antibody testing. A positive test indicates that the dog has been exposed to Ehrlichia but does not necessarily imply an active current infection. A negative titer does not fully rule out Ehrlichia, either, as a very sick patient may be too ill to produce antibodies and an early case may not yet have started to produce them.

  • PCR Testing

This is a laboratory test for the presence of Ehrlichia DNA. PCR testing remains positive for several weeks after the infection has cleared as it does not distinguish between live and dead organisms. It takes time to clear dead organisms from the body.

These two forms of testing are complementary, which means an antibody test can be used to screen dogs to identify those that have been infected. Treatment can be prescribed and after the treatment has completed and a couple of weeks have passed, the PCR test can check for any residual Ehrlichia DNA to indicate the infection has cleared.

Treatment

 

Certain antibiotics, such as doxycycline, are probably the most effective against Ehrlichia. A long course of treatment, generally a month or even longer, is needed. This is the treatment of choice as it is easily accessible and generally well tolerated.

When dogs experiencing severe anemia or bleeding problems, they may require blood transfusion, especially for chronic cases, supportive care may also be needed.

Ehrlichia infection can be fatal if untreated, although the dogs are surviving from the disease, they can also become re-infected as Ehrlichia immunity is not life-long.

Your veterinarian will discuss treatment options with you as some supportive medications or treatments may be needed depending on the clinical state of the patient and blood parameters.

Prevention

As always prevention is better than cure, inspect your dog daily for ticks, and regularly, reliable tick prevention is important in protecting your pet. Applying tick preventive is the most effective means of prevention, there are topical and oral chewable options. Your veterinarian will help you determine which preventive is right for your dog.

If your dog is showing any signs of the disease, contact your veterinarian as soon as possible, because early treatment provides the best chance for them to recover.

“For emergency, surgical, and medical needs, Wellness veterinary Hospital is providing packed red blood cell (pRBC) for dogs now, you can call us at 2572 2088 for more details and information, our medical team is in the clinic 24/7 to assist you.”

For more advice, please CONTACT US, or MAKE AN APPOINTMENT for checkup.

Find Us

Address
Shop 5, G/F, 41-59 Tai Tong Road
Kam Long Building, Yuen Long
元朗大棠路 41-59號金朗大廈地下5號鋪

Hours
Monday – Sunday: 10am – 8pm

Recent Posts

Dedicated Professionals Committed to the Highest of Veterinary Care

Whether you want to make an appointment or simply ask us a question, give us a call and our dedicated customer service will do their best to assist with your enquiries. Customer Care Hotline: 2572 2088

CONTACT US

FOLLOW US