寵物護理資訊及個別案例研究 “「醫」書直說

牛蜱熱:兩大常見寄生蟲 (Babesia Canis VS Babesia Gibsoni)

Tick fever_Babesia

牛蜱熱是其中一種在香港狗隻身上常見和危險的疾病,所以各位狗狗主人,要多了解有關這一個疾病的成因和病徵,小心提防寵物受到感染。

什麼是牛蜱熱?

 

本港有三種較常見可傳播牛蜱熱的吸血寄生蟲,包括Babesia Canis、Babesia Gibsoni及Ehrlichia Canis。今日會先集中討論兩類Babesia寄生蟲。

 

這一類的牛蜱熱是由Babesia寄生蟲所引起的,它們多數是透過牛蜱傳播,在叮咬的過程會傳到狗隻身上,然後入侵和攻擊牠們的紅血球細胞,所以會做成貧血的情況。

 

除此之外,Babesia Gibsoni寄生蟲還可以透過與受感染動物的接觸,例如咬/抓,將病毒由傷口傳播到另一隻狗身上;又或者透過母體傳播,將病毒傳給胎兒。另外,亦有可能在輸血過程中將病毒傳染出去,所以,康誠所提供的狗隻血包全部通過檢測,以確保血包不受病毒污染。(了解更多詳情)

Babesia Canis與Babesia Gibsoni的差異

透過血液抹片的觀察,Babesia Canis和Babesia Gibsoni可以根據它們的大小、形狀去區別。

Babesia Canis – 一種大型的寄生蟲(約4-5微米長),呈梨形,在紅血球細胞中通常會發現多於一個,甚至多至16個微生物。

Babesia Gibsoni – 一種較小的寄生蟲,直徑只有1-2.5微米。形狀呈環形或橢圓形。

透過PCR(聚合酶連鎖反應)的測試方法,提升了診斷效率,因為這方法能夠檢出Babesia寄生蟲的DNA,即使它們的含量處於低水平。同時,PCR檢測可用於鑑別和區分不同種類的Babesia寄生蟲。所以PCR測試是目前是最受推薦的診斷Babesia的測試方法之一,因為與抹片相比,它的靈敏度、準確度更高。

感染Babesia寄生蟲的病徵?

雖然兩種Babesia都有類近的臨床症狀,但一般而言,感染Babesia Gibsoni比感染Babesia Canis的症狀較為嚴重。

受感染的狗隻可能會出現多種臨床病狀,依照嚴重程度,從突然休克、貧血、到無明顯的症狀,統統都有可能發生。

常見的徵狀還包括:尿色變深(呈深橙色或深紅色)、發燒、身體虛弱、抑鬱、牙肉蒼白、食慾不振、淋巴結和脾臟腫大等。透過血液和尿液化驗,可能會發現有貧血、血小板減少症、低白蛋白和膽紅素尿(尿液中發現膽紅素 – 一種紅血球細胞被破壞後的代謝產物)的情況。

治療方法

如前所述,Babesia寄生蟲會入侵並破壞狗隻體內的紅血球,有可能造成嚴重貧血,危及性命安全,所以在治療方面,獸醫一般會採用以下這三種方法:

  1. 替狗隻輸血以治療嚴重貧血,
  2. 處方藥物來幫助消除寄生蟲,
  3. 提供支援性護理,主要針對病徵作出治療,例如提供氧氣治療以舒緩呼吸系統問題、處方止嘔藥物以幫助預防嘔吐。

值得留意的一點是,Babesia Gibsoni一般被認為比Babesia Canis較難治療,所以B. Gibsoni有時還需要結合使用一種俗稱「黃金水」(atovaquone)的藥物和抗生素(azithromycin)作為治療方案。

延誤治療的後果及預防方法

由於Babesia寄生蟲會破壞體內的紅血球細胞,導致貧血,如果長時間不治療會對生命構成威脅。所以預防是很重要。

 

目前市面上有預防牛蜱的方法,例如口服或外用的滅蟲劑或防牛蜱項圈等,都有助降低狗隻感染牛蜱熱的風險,建議向你的獸醫諮詢最適合你狗隻的預防方法,讓你的寵物遠離牛蜱熱感染。不過提醒一下,世上始終沒有100%保證有效的預防方法,所以主人最好定期檢查你的寵物,可以在替狗隻梳毛時逆毛仔細檢查牠們身上是否附著的牛蜱等寄生蟲。一旦發現,應盡快到獸醫診所求醫,以尋求正確移除牛蜱的方法。

 

注意:

康誠現正提供「24小時血包直購及送貨服務」,為有需要的主人提供狗隻血包以作醫療用途,例如手術前後、牛蜱熱、自身免疫系統溶血等犬隻輸血用途。如有需要,可直接致電: 2572 2088向本院查詢有關細節及詳情。

 

如有需要,可聯絡康誠動物醫院以獲取更多相關資訊;或網上預約獸醫諮詢服務。

尋找我們

Address 元朗大棠路 41-59號金朗大廈地下5號鋪 Hours星期一至五:早上10時至晚上8時
星期六及星期日:早上10時至晚上10時

最新文章

Dedicated Professionals Committed to the Highest of Veterinary Care

Whether you want to make an appointment or simply ask us a question, give us a call and our dedicated customer service will do their best to assist with your enquiries. Customer Care Hotline: 2572 2088

CONTACT US

FOLLOW US

Pet Care, Resources, and “The Vet Says

Tick fever – Babesia Canis vs Babesia Gibsoni

Tick fever_Babesia

Tick Fever is one of the most common and most dangerous diseases that happens in dogs in Hong Kong. As a pet owner, you should know more about the symptoms of tick fever and what we can do to prevent our furry friends from getting infected.

What is tick fever and how the dog get infected (Babesia)?

 

Babesia canis, Babesia Gibsoni and Ehrlichia Canis are the 3 most commonly seen tick-borne infections in Hong Kong. Today we would focus on the comparison of Babesia Canis and Babasia Gibsoni.

Babesia infection is a significant tick-borne disease caused by various species of Babesia organisms. In most of the cases, parasites are primarily transmitted through tick bites. Once the organisms get into the dog’s body, it would invade and attack their red blood cells, often leading to anemia.

However, Babesia Gibsoni may be transmitted directly by animal to animal, such as an infected dog with oral lesion or abrasions bite another dog, and infected pregnant females can also transmit babesia to their unborn puppies. Dogs may also be inadvertently infected through tainted blood transfusion. Because of potential of transmission through blood, all packed red blood cells (pRBCs) provided by Wellness Veterinary Hospital are tested for multiple infectious diseases including Babesia spp, to ensure the safety of blood recipients. Click here for more information.

What is the difference between Babesia Canis & Babesia Gibsoni?

Babesia Canis and Babesia Gibsoni are morphologically differentiated on the basis of their size in blood smear.

Babesia Canis – large form (4–5 μm long) of Babesia. Pyriform in shape, pointed one end, and round other. In a single RBC, multiple infection that is, more than one organism up to 16 may be found.

Babesia Gibsoni – small form (1.5–2.5 μm) of Babesia. Lack usual pyriform shapes, trophozoites are annular or oval; signet ring forms may occur.

Polymerase chain reaction (PCR)–based diagnostic assays have increased the detection rate of very low-level parasitemia as it can detect Babesia DNA. PCR test can be used for identification and differentiation of the various species of Babesia. This test is now one of the recommended laboratory tests for diagnosis for babesiosis because it is more sensitive and equally specific when compare with peripheral smear evaluation.

What are the symptoms?

In general, symptoms are less severe with Babesia Canis infection than with Babesia Gibsoni, even they have the similar clinical signs.

Dogs infected with babesia may present with a wide variety of symptoms ranging in severity from a sudden collapse with systemic shock, to a hemolytic crisis (the body attacks and destroys the red blood cells called hemolysis), to a subtle and slowly progressing infection with no apparent clinical signs.

Dogs also typically present with the acute, severe form of babesia, which is characterized by findings such as abnormally dark orange urine, fever, weakness, pale mucous membranes, depression, loss of appetite, swollen lymph nodes, and an enlarged spleen. Blood and urine tests may reveal anemia, thrombocytopenia (low platelets), hypoalbuminemia (low albumin, a blood protein), and bilirubinuria (a pigment from breaking down red blood cells is found in the urine).

How is babesiosis treated?

As mentioned before, Babesia organisms would destroy red blood cells in the body resulting in life-threatening anemia. Therefore, the treatment typically consists of three components:

  1. Blood transfusions to treat severe anemia.
  2. Antiprotozoal medications to help eliminate the parasite.
  3. Providing supportive care to treat the complications or side effects of the disease such as oxygen therapy to treat respiratory issues, or anti-nausea medication to help prevent vomiting.

Be aware that Babesia Gibson is considered more difficult to treat than Babesia Canis. Recommended treatment protocols for Babesia Gibsoni involve combining atovaquone (a quinone antimicrobial medication) and azithromycin(antibiotic).

What happens if untreated and how to prevent?

As mentioned, Babesia organisms destroy red blood cells in the body resulting in anemia. It can be fatal if left untreated too long. Therefore, prevention is very important.

The risk of infection can be reduced for dogs by providing tick control with a topical or oral acaricide, it’s better to consult your vet regarding the best possible way to keep your dog away from tick-borne infection. But no prevention is 100% protective, therefore it’s a good idea to inspect your dog for ticks on a regular basis by brushing your dog against the direction of the fur growth. If ticks are found, you should go to see vet as soon as possible.

Notes:

Wellness Veterinary Hospital provides packed red blood cell (pRBC) for dogs which is suitable with emergency, surgical and medical needs, please directly contact us at 2572 2088 for more details and information.

If you have any further queries about tick fever. Please contact us for more advice, or make an appointment here.

Find Us

Address
Shop 5, G/F, 41-59 Tai Tong Road
Kam Long Building, Yuen Long
元朗大棠路 41-59號金朗大廈地下5號鋪

Hours
Monday – Sunday: 10am – 8pm

Recent Posts

Dedicated Professionals Committed to the Highest of Veterinary Care

Whether you want to make an appointment or simply ask us a question, give us a call and our dedicated customer service will do their best to assist with your enquiries. Customer Care Hotline: 2572 2088

CONTACT US

FOLLOW US